Tips for Successful Weight Maintenance  

32Losing a substantial amount of weight is difficult enough, and maintaining a healthy weight is a life long battle that many people view as impossible. Most people allow the idea that healthy weight maintenance is an unachievable goal to become a self fulfilling prophecy. We have become a nation of fad diets and roller coaster eating habits, thus propelling our country into the top five of obese countries in the world. This is all in spite of the fact that as a developed nation we have at our disposal the means and technology to avoid such out of control obesity rates. Since money does not seem to be the solution to our weight problem, what is?

 

A holistic and healthy way of living is the base of weight maintenance, and the greatest asset you have for losing weight. Achieving this will require a complete shift in the way you view life, and your level of willingness to change certain negative behaviors. I, for example, have lost 65 pounds and have been able to maintain my weight for the past fifteen years. The fact that I did not lose it all at once, but rather gradually lost it by changing my eating habits and developing an exercise regimen, was the greatest help in maintaining my healthy weight. Similar data about this are accessible at this website. I also found that my body has become able to heal itself from certain ailments, such as my once-debilitating allergy and asthma issues. When I began to notice improvements in my health finding the enthusiasm and willingness to continue moving forward with my newfound healthy way of living was not as difficult as starting. But a start must be made in order for the results to come.

 

One crucial element for healthy weight maintenance is exercise. Any sort of aerobic or cardiovascular exercise, at least 30 minutes daily, will vastly improve your body physically and mentally. I began riding a bike as my main mode of transport, rain or shine, and the fun and practical physical exercise made adhering to my diet regimen easier. Exercise can be as simple as taking a walk or as intricate as joining a Crossfit box or training for a marathon.

 

Meal replacement was also a big key to my healthy weight loss. Learn further information about this from the health status website. I began to replace one high calorie meal, such as my beloved pancakes for breakfast, with an all natural green shake with added protein. This was not only quicker than cooking an entire meal, but also provided all the nutrients I needed without all the extra carbohydrates and fats. Once you begin to lose weight your body does not require as much food as it once did to sustain itself. That being said, breakfast still remains the most important meal of the day, and you will want to make sure to have an adequate amount of protein and iron to carry you through the day.

 

Keeping a food journal was also a great way to accurately assess my eating habits and face my weight problem head on. When I would review my day and see that I had eaten mostly whole meals without any snacks, it boosted my self-esteem and thus helped me want to eat better the next day. On days where I ate too many snacks I felt motivated to do better the next day.

 

Healthy weight maintenance all boils down to making better decisions about the food you put in your body. This does not mean that you must stop eating some of the foods you enjoy for the rest of your life. But rather that certain unhealthy foods, such as fried foods and pizza, must not be the main fixtures of your diet. Lean meats, fish, chicken fillets and turkey burgers are all great alternatives to fried chicken and fatty steaks.

 

Another great tool I found was drinking water. Your body becomes dehydrated easier than you may think. And it is easy to confuse starvation with dehydration. Keeping a bottle of water with me at all times helped me to curb what I would normally confuse with hunger pangs. Another beverage I found to be helpful is green tea. Herbal green tea is not only full of great antioxidants, vitamins and minerals, but can help suppress appetite and boost your metabolic rate. Green tea is also a great source of energy, and I personally was able to replace coffee with a cup of it in the morning.

 

These are just some helpful hints for maintaining the weight you worked so hard to achieve. Getting started is not easy, but it will be worth it in the end. Weight loss and weight maintenance is a journey, not a destination. Following these steps will help you get on track and stay there. Logic tells us that if we gained all the weight by eating unhealthy foods, then we will gain it all back if we return to our previous eating habits. Building a strong foundation in a holistic and healthy lifestyle will bring about a perspective shift, and once you see how much better you feel you will not want to return to your old ways.

Leave a comment